Two Waterford papers nominated for Irish Local Media Awards

Two Waterford papers nominated for Irish Local Media Awards

Two Waterford newspapers have received nominations for the Irish Local Media Awards.

The Munster Express and Waterford News and Star have both been nominated for awards under two categories.

The Irish Local Media Awards celebrate excellence in local journalism and the regional news publishing industry. They are sponsored by The National Lottery.

The Munster Express's News Editor Kieran Foley has been shortlisted in the 'Feature Journalist of the Year' category.


The category recognises topics focusing on human interest, lifestyle local personality profiles, and social interest stories.

His story, "A station master's story," received the nomination. It was published in March 2021 and told the story of Paddy Joe Maher, the last station master at Durrow Train Station before it closed in 1967.

The paper's Sports Editor, Catherine Power, has been shortlisted in the 'Sports Journalist of the Year' award. It recognises work conducted in the form of match reports, sports profiles, or any other topic of sporting interest.

She has been acknowledged for her coverage of the achievements of Henry de Bromhead at Cheltenham in March 2021 and Aintree 2021.


In both of these categories, only four journalists were nominated.

Waterford News and Star also received two nominations.

Darren Skleton has been nominated as the 'Columnist of the Year.'

He has been writing his running series, "A view from the Blue" for over 10 years now. It is this weekly column that secured his nomination and previously won him an award for 'News Series of the Year.' .

Dymphna Nugent has been shortlisted in the 'National Lottery Best Community Story' category.

Her article "Home for Christmas" told the story of John Upton, a Larchville man who lost the ability to speak and use his hands and legs. He was brought home on Christmas week, depsite thinking he'd never go home again.

The awards ceremony will be held on October 13th at the Bloomfield House Hotel in Mullingar.

The winner of each category will be whoever "produces a story with a local focus which is relevant, well-written and structured, and brings good insight to the topic."

On the judging panel this year is Entrepreneur and Broadcaster, Áine Kerr, Author and Broadcaster, Derbhail McDonald, Emertius Professor at TUD, Michael Foley, DCU's School of Communications, Dawn Wheatley, Kinetic Ireland Managing Director, Andrew Sinclair, Photographer and Former Irish Times Photo Editor, Frank Miller, Broadcaster and Writer, Valerie Cox, and Journalist and Author, PJ Cunningham. Sports Commentator Marty Morrissey will be the Guest Master of Ceremonies.

For more Waterford News and Sport, click here.