Abbeyside's Conor Prunty nabs Waterford's sole All-Star Award

Conor Prunty is the only Waterford hurler to receive an All-Star at this year's GAA / GPA awards.

The Abbeyside defender secured the number three,  full back position on the team of the year.

All Ireland Champions Limerick have been awarded a record 12 All-stars in total.

Cian Lynch, Sean Finn and Kyle Hayes are all on the shortlist for hurler of the year, and they are in the team.


John Kiely's side beat Cork by 16 points in the All Ireland final back in August, and for the first time in the 50 year history of the All Stars, there are no representatives of the All Ireland runners up on the team.

The other players selected are former WIT Fitzgibbon Cup winning Captain and Glenmore clubman, Eoin Murphy, in goal for Kilkenny, and Tony Kelly of Clare at right corner forward.

Responding to the news, President of the GAA Larry McCarthy said: “In the fullness of time, the achievement of getting club and county games played in the midst of a harrowing pandemic will rank as one of our most significant achievements. It was a collective effort, and enormous credit is due to our players for their dedication and diligence.

“This PwC All-Star hurling selection represents the cream of a memorable crop in 2021. I salute all of those who have been chosen in this final 15 and know that after the year you have had it will be extra special and celebrated by your families and clubs.


“Our sincerest thanks to PwC for their support for the All-Stars which celebrates 50 years and continues its rich history and prominence in Irish sport.”

The teams was chosen by a panel of Gaelic Games correspondents from across, print, radio, TV and digital media, chaired by Uachtarán CLG Larry McCarthy.

In light of the on-going pandemic and its restrictions, a decision was taken not to proceed with the traditional presentation banquet. However, the event will still be showcased live by RTE 1 television in a special programme this Friday at 7pm.

The starting fifteen team is as follows:

(Previous winning years in brackets)

1. Eoin Murphy (Glenmore, Kilkenny) (2016, ’18)

2. Seán Finn (Bruff, Limerick) (2018, ’19, ’20)

3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside, Waterford)

4. Barry Nash (South Liberties, Limerick)

5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Patrickswell, Limerick) (2020)

6. Declan Hannon (Adare, Limerick) (2018)

7. Kyle Hayes (Kildimo/Pallaskenry, Limerick) (2020)

8. Will O’Donoghue (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)

9. Darragh O’Donovan (Doon, Limerick)

10. Gearoid Hegarty (St Patrick’s, Limerick) (2020)

11. Cian Lynch (Patrickswell, Limerick) (2018, 2020)

12. Tom Morrissey (Ahane, Limerick) (2020)

13. Tony Kelly (Ballyea, Clare) (2013, ’20)

14. Seamus Flanagan (Feohanagh-Castlemahon, Limerick)

15. Peter Casey (Na Piarsaigh, Limerick)