Blues Back to Winning Ways in Longford

Blues Back to Winning Ways in Longford

Longford Town 0 Waterford FC 3

Waterford FC got back to winning ways with a solid performance against Longford Town at Bishopsgate.

Keith Long's charges were boosted by the return of Ryan Burke after suspension and Ronan Coughlan started his first game since limping off against Cork in August.

It took Waterford just 19 minutes to open the scoring when Burke raced onto a lovely through ball from Niall O Keeffe and he let fly from 20 yards to send the ball past Jack Brady to the bottom corner.

Waterford were tested by Longford on two occasions on the stroke of half time with Beneoin O Brien Whitmarsh heading over from close range and then former Blue Bastien Héry hitting the upright with the goal at his mercy.


Héry was shown a red card with two yellows in the space of two minutes when he pulled back Dean McMenamy and then handed referee Ray Matthews an easy decision with a reckless tackle on Niall O Keeffe.

The Blues' lead was doubled on 66 minutes when a sweeping move ended with Ronan Coughlan firing home though it may have been helped by defender Gavin O Brien.

The extra man proved to be too much for the home side and Christie Pattisson scored his second of the season 12 minutes from time when he reacted quickly to a breaking ball from a Connor Parsons corner to score from close range.

LONGFORD TOWN: Jack Brady, Dylan Hand, Cristian Magerusan (Ola Adeyemo ’70), Gary Armstrong (Ross Fay ’87), Lewis Temple, James Doona (Mohammed Boudiaf ’64), Adam Wixted, Kyle O’Connor, Gavin O’Brien (Joshua Giurgi ’70), Bastien Héry, Beineon O’Brien-Whitmarsh (Jordan Adeyemo ’70)


WATERFORD FC: Sam Sargeant, Darragh Power, Derik Osede (Drew Baker ’82), Giles Philips, Ryan Burke, Niall O’Keeffe (Sam Perry ’82), Shane Griffin (Christie Pattisson ’67), Connor Parsons (Roland Idowu ’82), Dean McMenamy, Cameron Cresswell, Ronan Coughlan (Serge Atakayi ’82).

Referee: Ray Matthews (Kerry).