Cahill makes two changes for Cork clash

Waterford manager Liam Cahill has made two changes to his starting fifteen for this weekend’s crucial Munster Senior Hurling Championship clash with Cork at Walsh Park.

Three-time All-Star Jamie Barron will make his first start of 2022 in midfield. He comes in in place of Dungarvan man Darragh Lyons.

Lismore’s Iarlaith Daly has been ruled out for the rest of the championship with an ankle injury - and he is replaced by his brother Cárthach in the half-back line.

Ballygunner defender Ian Kenny and Passage youngster Mark Fitzgerald make a return to the match day 26.


Waterford Senior Hurling Team to face Cork:

1. Shaun O’Brien (De La Salle)

2. Conor Gleeson (Fourmilewater)

3. Conor Prunty (Abbeyside) (C)


4. Shane McNulty (De La Salle)

5. Jack Fagan (De La Salle)

6. Tadhg De Búrca (Clashmore / Kinsalebeg)

7. Cárthach Daly (Lismore)

8. Jamie Barron (Fourmilewater)

9. Calum Lyons (Ballyduff Lower)

10. Jack Prendergast (Lismore)

11. Austin Gleeson (Mount Sion)

12. Patrick Curran (Dungarvan)

13. Dessie Hutchinson (Ballygunner)

14. Stephen Bennett (Ballysaggart)

15. Michael Kiely (Abbeyside)

Cork meanwhile have made three changes in personnel from their loss to Clare. Luke Meade comes into midfield in place of Ger Mellerick, while Shane Kingston and Jack O’Connor drop to the bench as Conor Lehane and Alan Connolly come in from the start.

Cork Team to face Waterford:

  1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
  2. Niall O’Leary (Castlelyons)
  3. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
  4. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra)
  5. Tim O’Mahony (Newtownshandrum)
  6. Ciarán Joyce (Castlemartyr)
  7. Mark Coleman (Blarney) Captain
  8. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)
  9. Luke Meade (Newcestown)
  10. Robbie O’Flynn (Erins Own)
  11. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)
  12. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
  13. Alan Connolly (Blackrock)
  14. Séamus Harnedy (St Ita’s)
  15. Shane Barrett (Blarney)

WLR will broadcast the game live this Sunday from 1.45pm thanks to George Corbett Skoda - with Kieran O’Connor and Brian Flannery taking you through all of the action.