Seventh heaven for Blues to pick up first home win of 2023

Waterford FC gave new manager Keith Long plenty to cheer about as they landed their first home win of the season with a comprehensive 7 – 1 win over Finn Harps at the RSC last night.

There was little to cheer about in the early stages of the game as both teams struggled to find any rhythm. But the deadlock was broken on 29 minutes when Roland Idowu fired an unstoppable shot from the top of the area.

The lead was doubled on the stroke of half-time when Ellis Farrar turned the ball into his own net from a Barry Baggley free kick and Killian Cantwell made it three before the half-time whistle when he fired home from close range.

It was four on 54 minutes when a defensive mix-up allowed Ronan Coughlan to tap home from close range and the Blues went five up 15 minutes later when Idowu got his second with another shot from the top of the area.


Conor Parsons was only on the field for 3 minutes when he reacted to the loose ball after Hiemer saved from Shane Griffin to make it 6 and Griffin provided an excellent free kick for Giles Philips to head home his side’s seventh on 81 minutes. Harps did pick up a consolation goal 3 minutes later when Okwuy Okwute poked the ball home but the night belonged to the Blues.

WATERFORD FC: Paul Martin, Tunmise Sobowale (Harvey Warren ’84), Kilian Cantwell, Giles Philips, Ryan Burke, Niall O’Keeffe, Shane Griffin (Romeo Akachukwu ’84), Dean McMenamy (Dean Larkin ’80), Barry Baggley (Connor Parsons ’74), Roland Idowu, Ronan Coughlan (Wassim Aouachria ’74).

FINN HARPS: Tim Oliver Hiemer, Caoimhin Porter, Daithí McCallion, Noe Baba, Ellis Farrar (Shane McMonagle ’85), Katlego Mashigo (Kevin Jordan ’46), Seamus Keogh (Michael Harris ’46), Ryan Rainey, Filip Da Silva (Shaunie Bradley ’59), Okwuy Okwute (Damien Duffy ’85), Ryan Flood.

Referee: Eoghan O’Shea (Tipperary).