Sobowale stunner as Blues take three points at Treaty

SSE Airtricity First Division

 Treaty United 1

Waterford FC 2

 Waterford FC returned to winning ways in the SSE Airtricity First Division last night as first-half goals from Tunmise Sobowale and Darragh Power gave the Blues a deserved 2-1 win over Treaty United at the Markets Field.


It was a stunning strike that gave Waterford the lead on 18 minutes when Roland Idowu showed neat footwork down the left to turn provider for defender Tunmise Sobowale, and he powered a right-footed 25-yard strike to the far corner past a helpless Jack Brady.

The Blues doubled their lead eight minutes later when Phoenix Patterson sent over a left-wing corner that picked out Kilian Cantwell, who hooked the ball back into the danger area that saw Brady save Dean Larkin’s header, but Darragh Power was on hand to finish for his first goal of the season.

Blues keeper Paul Martin came to his side’s rescue when he made a brilliant penalty save on 43 minutes. Richard Taylor was judged to have fouled Enda Curran in the eyes of Cork referee Kevin O’Sullivan, but Martin guessed the right way to superbly turn the ball around the posts.

Idowu carved out a chance for himself on the hour mark when the winger took possession of the ball out on the right-side before outpacing defender Ludden, but after bringing the ball onto his left-foot, his shot was saved by Jack Brady.


Lee Devitt did well on the edge of the Waterford penalty area that brought the home crowd to their feet on 69 minutes when the attacker cut into the penalty area, but his left-footed shot from 14 yards was saved by the feet of Paul Martin.

The hosts ensured a nervy ending as they grabbed an 89th minute goal when Success Edogun latched onto the ball on the right-side of the penalty area, and after keeper Paul Martin came from his goal, the attacker lobbed the netminder with a fine finish, but it was nothing bar a mere consolation.

TREATY UNITED: Jack Brady, Mark Ludden, Sean Guerins, Callum McNamara, Joe Collins (William Armshaw ’46), Dean George, Stephen Christopher (Conor Melody ’79), Lee Devitt, Enda Curran (Success Edogun ’67), Matt Keane (Colin Conroy ’46), Ben O’Riordan (Joel Coustrain ’79)

WATERFORD FC: Paul Martin, Tunmise Sobowale, Richard Taylor, Kilian Cantwell, Darragh Power, Shane Griffin, Niall O’Keeffe, Dean Larkin, Junior Quitirna (Owen Oseni ’90), Phoenix Patterson, Roland Idowu

Referee: Kevin O’Sullivan (Cork)