The JJ Hutchinson show

JJ Hutchinson shot 1-10 (1-6 from play) as Gaultier got off to a winning start against Kilmacthomas in the Waterford SFC at a sunny Walsh Park. A 55th minute goal from the former Waterford attacker sealed a 1-14 to 0-6 win for Michael Flynn's side.

"Bar my two kids and my wife at home, there's nothing I love more than playing for this club," Hutchinson told WLR Sport. "I still get a tingle down my spine when I'm driving into the field to go training. We have a running joke in Gaulter. Sean Byrne, who was playing corner back, was born in 2003, which was my first year in a Gaultier senior dressing room!"

Patrick Fitzgerald marked his senior debut with two points off the bench. Gus Flynn and Darragh O'Keeffe also got in on the act. Kilmac kicked eleven wides (six in the first half) and went 20 minutes without a score in the second half. Full forward Eoin Walsh got three points for Benji Whelan's side.

Five Hutchinson singles (four from play) gave Gaultier a 5-2 half time lead. Eoin Walsh fisted wide for Kilmac in the first minute. Three Hutchinson points off his reliable right boot made it 3-1 after 14 minutes. Dean Walsh got Kilmac off the mark.


Gaultier lost defender Barry Coughlan to a black card on 19 minutes for a high tackle on David Hallihan.  Kilmac couldn't capitalise on their numerical advantage however.

Hutchinson cut inside two defenders to send over Gaultier's first point in thirteen minutes. He then collected a Caoimhain Maguire line ball and slotted a point off his left.

Eoin Walsh narrowed the gap to two on the resumption but Kilmac couldn't get any closer. Five minutes from time, Darragh O'Keeffe fed Hutchinson and he rounded Niall Cronin before he fired home.

Scorers for Gaultier: JJ Hutchinson 1-10 (4fs), Patrick Fitzgerald 0-2, Gus Flynn, Darragh O'Keeffe 0-1 each.


Scorers for Kilmacthomas: Eoin Walsh 0-3 (2fs), Dean Walsh 0-2, Adam Walsh 0-1.

Gaultier: Davy Daniels; Sean Byrne, Nick Byrne, Barry Coughlan; Gus Flynn, Gary Cullinane, David Jones; Mark Fitzgerald, Niall McSweeney; Eoghan McSweeney, Caoimhain Maguire, Tom Dalton; JJ Hutchinson, Billy O'Keeffe, Sean Cullinane.

Subs: Darragh O'Keeffe for Dalton (23), Callum O'Neill for Jones (HT), Patrick Fitzgerald for Eoghan McSweeney (36), Bob Doherty for JJ Hutchinson (57), Tommy Martin for Coughlan (59).

Kilmacthomas: Niall Cronin; Peter Gallagher, Jay Hurton, Kavan Dee; Pauric Hallihan, Jack Dee, Owen McNamara; Dan Cusack, Reece Power; David Hallihan, Eoin Walsh, Adam Walsh; Dean Walsh, Alan Fitzsimons, Kealan Kiersey.

Subs: David Sutton for Power (HT), John Cleary for Kiersey (34).

Referee: Nicholas O'Toole