Vote for your overall WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards winner

Vote for your overall WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards winner

The WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards Will Take Place On January 14th 2023

When one Waterford GAA star will be crowned the overall WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards winner.

During 2022, 12 GAA stars across Waterford were awarded monthly awards, and the overall WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards winner will be announced in The Granville Hotel Waterford on Saturday, January 14th.

We want YOU to be the 5th judge and have your say on who the overall winner should be. Your vote will make up 25% of the overall result.

Scroll down to vote for your overall WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards winner and to be entered into a draw to win two tickets to the banquet on Saturday, January 14th.


Our guest speaker on the evening will be Anthony Daly, who was one of his generation's most inspirational players and captains, and a man you would rather play alongside than against.

Anthony led Clare to two All-Ireland Championships in '95 and '97, won three All-Star awards and is widely regarded as one of Clare's all-time greats. Anthony worked with Clarecastle, Kilmoyley and Kilmihil at club level before managing the Clare and Dublin senior hurling teams. In addition to being a highly regarded commentator on GAA, Anthony writes for The Examiner and has a very popular podcast, Dalo's Hurling Show.

Vote for your winner below before 5pm on Tuesday, January 3rd.

Here are your monthly winners.

January – Billy O'Keeffe


Billy was the first winner of 2022. His move from wing back to corner forward was a game-changer as the Gunners became the first Waterford club to claim the Tommy Moore Cup. Billy was to the fore in the All-Ireland semi-final scoring 2-03 against Slaughtneil. He finished the season with 5 goals and 13 points scored for Darragh O'Sullivan's team.

February – Joint Winner Dessie Hutchinson

Dessie was man of the match in the All-Ireland Club hurling final against Ballyhale Shamrocks. The All-Star nominee netted a crucial second-half goal on the day and finished his afternoon in Croke Park with 1-03. The victory in Croke Park heralded a first-ever All-Ireland club title for a Waterford club with Hutchinson a key part of that success.

February – Joint Winner Michael Kiely

The new county man had a couple of weeks playing for UL he will never forget. His last-second goals against IT Carlow and NUIG proved to make the difference in the Fitzgibbon Cup. With the game in the balance in the semi-final, he struck a 45-metre free to the back of the net to steal the win, only to follow it up two days later in the final when he was the match-winner again.

March – Stephen Bennett

The Ballysaggart ace had a superb National Hurling League campaign and was at the peak of his powers throughout March - as Waterford went on to win their first piece of silverware since 2015. Across four games, Bennett hit 8-51 in Waterford's league campaign. 4-9 of which came from play.

April – Patrick Curran

The 26-year-old built upon a string of strong individual performances in the Hurling League, pitching in with 1-3 from play in the decider against Cork. Two weeks later, he carried his fine form into the Munster Senior Hurling Championship as Liam Cahill's side secured an opening-round victory against Tipperary at Walsh Park. Curran contributed 2-21 in Waterford's run to league honours, while he chipped in with 1-13 in the Munster Championship.

May – Lorraine Bray

The newly named Waterford Senior Camogie captain inspired her county to back-to-back Championship wins over Wexford and Tipperary - netting twice against Wexford and following that up with three points against Tipp. The Win over the Premier proved to be historic as it was the first win over the old rivals since Waterford's promotion to the senior ranks. She led Waterford to its first All-Ireland semi-final since 1959.

June – Beth Carton

The county sharpshooter picked up her fifth monthly award in June. The De La Salle attacker was the top scorer for the Déise in the Championship, with 2 goals and 45 points. She stood out from the crowd in the win over Tipperary, where she shot eight points, and followed it up with 1-6 against Clare and Limerick.

July – Niamh Rockett

A second monthly award for Niamh was earned after an impressive showing in the All-Ireland Senior Camogie quarter-final. The St Anne's forward raised two green flags as Waterford triumphed over Limerick to book their first appearance in a semi-final since 1959. The former captain has been part of the Waterford team since 2009, having won All-Ireland medals in junior and intermediate grades.

August – Tommy Ryan

The former county man finished as the top scorer in the county senior hurling championship with 2 goals and 47 points. He shot an impressive 2-11 against Abbeyside in Round 3. Tommy has just finished his 16th year of senior hurling with his club, where he has played in two county finals. His scoring in the relegation play-off was instrumental in his club's survival in the senior ranks when he hit nine points against Dunhill.

September – Stephen O' Keeffe

The 2017 All-Star was named man of the match in the Gunner's county final win over Mount Sion, where he made four outstanding saves. Ballygunner made it nine consecutive county titles, with O' Keefe instrumental in the journey. He joins his brother Billy on the monthly award honours for 2022.

October – Keeley Corbett Barry

The De La Salle defender was to the fore for club and county this year, leading from the back as Waterford played an All-Ireland semi-final for the first time since 1959. She was back to her best for De la Salle in the county championship. The Gracedieu outfit lifted their first-ever senior county title, thanks to Keeley’s contributions. Her point in the county final win over Gailltír will be long remembered amongst the best ever scored at Carriganore.

November - Sinead Kenrick

Sinéad kicked four points from play as Ballymacarby won their first Munster championship in 22 years against The Banner and brought home the Michael Ryan trophy. She also found the net against Comeragh Rangers as they completed 41 county titles in a row. The former Waterford captain won the All Ireland intermediate title in 2015 alongside her sisters Michelle and Louise. She also picked up the 2010 Intermediate Golden Boot after shooting 11-24 for the Déise.

Vote for your overall WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards winner below. Don't forget to hit submit when you're done. Voting closes on January 3rd.


For more Waterford sport see WLRFM.com/sport.