VOTE for the overall WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards winner

VOTE for the overall WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards winner

The WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards Will Take Place On January 13th 2024

When one Waterford GAA star will be crowned the overall WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards winner.

During 2023, 13 GAA stars across Waterford were awarded monthly awards, and the overall WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards winner will be announced in The Granville Hotel Waterford on Saturday, January 13th.

We want YOU to be the 5th judge and have your say on who the overall winner should be. Your vote will make up 25% of the overall result.

Scroll down to vote for your overall WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards winner and to be entered into a draw to win two tickets to the banquet on Saturday, January 13th.


Our guest speaker on the evening will be Martin Storey.

Former Wexford captain Martin Storey is a three-time All-Star winner, and is best known for playing a leading role in the famed 1996 All-Ireland success. The Oulart the Ballagh clubman won two Leinster titles and an All-Ireland in his time playing for Wexford. He was an All-Star in 1993, 1996 and 1998. Since retirement from playing, Storey has become involved in team management and coaching. After serving as a selector at club level, he subsequently served as trainer of the Wexford senior camogie team and manager of the Wexford minor hurling team.

Vote for your winner below before 12 noon on Thursday, January 4th.

Here are your monthly winners:

FEBRUARY - Lauren McGregor (Joint Winner)

Dungarvan’s Lauren McGregor was the joint-winner of the February award on account of some stellar showings for the Waterford ladies’ footballers in their National League campaign. McGregor scored 6-05 in seven games for the Deise, with her green flags proving crucial in victories against Mayo, Donegal and reigning All-Ireland champions Meath.

FEBRUARY - Michael Kiely (Joint Winner)


Abbeyside man Michael Kiely picked up a second consecutive February award, having once again starred for UL in another Fitzgibbon Cup-winning campaign. The full-forward starred in the final against NUI Galway, scoring 4-1 to secure back-to-back titles for the Treaty men. Michael was also named Man of the Match in both the 2022 and 2023 deciders.

MARCH - Beth Carton

De La Salle and Waterford camogie star Beth Carton picked up her sixth monthly award in March, having fired the Deise to glory in the Division 1B of the National League. Carton scored a whopping tally of 2-56 across six games en-route to silverware. Carton was named Player of the Match in that league final victory over Wexford at Semple Stadium, notching eight points in the decider.

APRIL - Megan Dunford

Waterford ladies’ football defender Megan Dunford was the winner of this year’s April award, having been named in the Team of the League following an excellent individual campaign. Dunford impressed in games against Cork, Kerry, Mayo and Donegal and also chipped in at the other end of the field versus Galway. Rated as one of the tightest markers in the ladies’ game, this was the first monthly award for Dunford.

MAY - Mark Fitzgerald

Waterford hurler Mark Fitzgerald collected his first ever monthly award in May, having been the star man for the Deise in the Munster Senior Hurling Championship. The 20-year-old Passage club man was a consistent performer for Davy Fitzgerald's side throughout the campaign. In February, he claimed a Fitzgibbon Cup medal with UL, before kicking on and starring in Waterford’s comfortable Munster win over Tipperary.

JUNE - Mairead O’Brien

20-year-old Mairead O’Brien was one of the shining lights of the Waterford camogie side this season and picked up her first monthly award in June. The Modeligo native scored 3-3 as the Deise topped their group before moving on to the All-Ireland Semi-Finals. O’Brien was instrumental in victories over Antrim, Limerick and Offaly as Waterford progressed to the final four with ease.

JULY - Lorraine Bray

Waterford camogie captain Lorraine Bray was to the fore once again as she helped her side get over the line to reach a first All-Ireland final in 78 years with a famous one-point victory over Tipperary at Nowlan Park. The Cappoquin midfielder picked up her third monthly award as a result, and went on to pick up another All-Star award for her outstanding performances.

AUGUST - Gavin O’Brien

Gavin O’Brien played a starring role for Roanmore throughout the course of their Waterford Senior Hurling Championship campaign. The half-forward was immense throughout, with his contribution of 0-15 in the quarter-final victory over Mount Sion proving the highlight. O’Brien contributed with 0-36 in the first three games of Roanmore’s campaign, having also shone in the victories over Lismore and Clonea.

SEPTEMBER - Peter Hogan

Ballygunner and Waterford regular Peter Hogan was the star of the championship at wing forward as the Gunners completed a record-breaking ten county titles in a row. Hogan scored 1-10 from play in the 2023 championship, including 1-2 against De La Salle on county final day. He duly picked up his first ever monthly award, before going on to make history as part of the three-in-a-row Munster winning side.

OCTOBER - Kelly Ann Hogan (Joint Winner)

Ballymacarby had a season to remember, and Kelly Ann Hogan was an integral part throughout. Ballymac won a 42nd consecutive Waterford county title with a hard-fought victory over Comeragh Rangers, before going on to win a 16th Munster title. Hogan kicked 0-5 in the county final victory and 2-5 in the Munster quarter final victory versus Fethard to collect her first monthly award.

OCTOBER - Conor Murray (Joint Winner)

Rathgormack and Deise footballer Conor Murray was at the peak of his powers in October, guiding his club to Conway Cup glory for the first time since 2018. The forward kicked 1-10 from play across the course of the championship, before the Comeragh men saw off the Nire in the decider. Murray also starred in wins over Stradbally, Clashmore/Kinsalebeg and An Rinn en route to his second county medal.

NOVEMBER - Brid McMaugh

The Ballymacarbry star played a pivotal role as they secured back-to-back Munster Ladies' Football titles with victory over the Banner of Clare in the provincial final - before defeating Ulster champions Clan Eireann in the All-Ireland semi-final. McMaugh was the star of the show in the Munster final, knocking over 0-7 in a player-of-the-match performance, and she also kicked 0-3 from play in the All-Ireland semi-final victory.

DECEMBER - Stephen O'Keeffe

Stephen O’Keeffe once again played a pivotal rote throughout the campaign for Ballygunner as they marched on to the All-Ireland semi-finals. They became the first ever side to win three consecutive Munster senior club titles when defeating Clonlara comfortably in the Munster decider - handing O’Keeffe his fourth Munster club medal.


VOTE for your overall WLR/Granville Hotel GAA Awards winner below. Don't forget to hit submit when you're done. Voting closes on January 4th.


For more Waterford sport see WLRFM.com/sport.

Listen in to WLR weekdays and weekends for more

*By choosing to enter this competition you are agreeing to allow WLR to use your personal information to administer these promotions. We will retain your personal information as needed to fulfil the purposes for which it was collected. We will retain and use your personal information no longer than is necessary to comply with our business. For more see our contest rules.

For more WLR competitions see WLRFM.com/competitions or check us out on FacebookTwitter or Instagram