Waterford and Carlow set to share SETU HQ on rotating basis

It's understood Waterford will now share the headquarters of the South East Technological University with Carlow.

According to a Strategic Management Lecturer at SETU, Ray Griffin - Waterford will only hold onto that title for 2 years before it shifts to Carlow for the next two years.

That's despite the Minister for Higher Education, Simon Harris, stating on WLR earlier this year that it wouldn't make any sense for the headquarters to be anywhere other than Waterford.

Speaking on Deise Today, Mr. Griffin said it was his understanding that the headquarters will be shared between Waterford and Carlow.


"It is a rotating headquarters - the first governing body, they decided at a meeting - the third or fourth meeting, they decided it was going to be in Waterford for two years and then it will rotate on to Carlow. Where's the centre of gravity of it? It's a partnership between two institutions, ones larger than the other, but within the organisation - we have new colleagues that we have got to respect. We are in welcoming mode."

Meanwhile, in an update on Wednesday afternoon, a spokesperson for SETU provided a statement on the issue. They say, "South East Technological University wishes to clarify that it has not announced a headquarters.

"For the purposes of administration processes, the governing body agreed that the administrative address would be the Waterford campus for a two year period."

For all the latest news in Waterford, click here.