Browne appointed as Waterford hurling selector

1998 Hurler of the Year Tony Browne will join Liam Cahill's Waterford hurling backroom team as selector for 2022.

He replaces Tom Feeney who stepped away at the end of last season.

The Mount Sion man made 65 championship appearances for the Déise between 1992 and 2013. He won four Munster titles in 2002, 2004, 2007 and 2010 along with the 2007 National League  He also picked up three All Stars (1998, 2006 and 2007). Browne captained Waterford to All Ireland under 21 glory in 1992 and was also named on the Déise Team of the Millenium.

He served as Waterford under 21 selector in 2015 and trained Lismore in 2016 when they won the Munster intermediate title. He coached Dicksboro in the Kilkenny senior club championship this season.


Browne will join Cahill, Mikey Bevans and Stephen Frampton on the sideline for the 2022 campaign. Waterford are set to resume collective training on December 8.