City South: Sitting councillors stand tall

City South: Sitting councillors stand tall

All six councillors who held seats going into the Local Elections remain in place following the completion of counts in Waterford City South.

The poll was topped by Independent Councillor Donal Barry, while Sinn Fein had two councillors returned in the form of John Hearne and Joeanne Bailey.

Jason Murphy ensured the Fianna Fail seat remained in place in the locality, as did Frank Quinlan for Fine Gael - and Seamus Ryan for Labour.

Cllr. Barry was elected on Count 1, while Cllr. Hearne was elected on Count 2.


A long process then followed, as Cllr. Murphy was elected on Count 10 - before the remaining three seats were filled on Count 12.

Here's the full result from Waterford City South:

Electorate: 15,641

Total Valid Poll: 7,402


Spoiled Votes: 104

Turnout: 47.99%

Quota: 1,058

For the latest Waterford News and Sport, tune into WLR News on the hour and download the WLR App for news on demand.