Waterford Local Election 2024

Waterford Local Election Candidates for 2024:

Local Election Candidates for June 2024

The 2024 Irish local elections are scheduled to be held in all local authorities in Ireland, including Waterford City & County Council on Friday 7 June 2024.

European Parliament elections and a referendum on the Unified Patent Court will be held on the same day.

Each local government area (a city, a county, or a city and county) is divided into local electoral areas (LEAs) where three to seven councillors are elected on the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote.

Local Government Elections must be held every 5 years. In Waterford, 32 councillors will be elected.

Every person over 18 years whose name is included in the electoral register is entitled to vote in the local area in which s/he lives. It is not necessary to be an Irish citizen to vote in a Local Election.

To make sure you are registered to vote in local elections, check www.checktheregister.ie

Here are the candidates who have declared their intention to run in County Waterford:


  • Cllr. Damien Geoghegan (Fine Gael)
  • Cllr. Thomas Phelan (Labour)
  • Cllr. Conor McGuinness (Sinn Fein)
  • Cllr. Pat Nugent (Fine Gael)
  • Cllr. Tom Cronin (Fianna Fail)
  • Cllr. Seamus O’Donnell (Independent)
  • Monica Murphy (Fine Gael)
  • Aaron Joyce (Independent)
  • Siobhan Butler Whelan (Sinn Fein)
  • Fiona Regan (Sinn Fein)
  • Críostóir Ó Faoláin (Green Party)
  • JD O’Connell (Social Democrats)
  • Caren Hallahan (Independent)
  • Joe O'Riordan (Independent)



  • Cllr. John Pratt (Labour)
  • Cllr. Declan Doocey (Fine Gael)
  • Michael Walsh (Fianna Fail)
  • Donnchadh Mulcahy (Sinn Fein)
  • Niamh O’Donovan (Fine Gael)
  • Lynn Glasscoe (Green Party)
  • Michael McCarthy (The Irish People)
  • Brian Buckley (Independent)


Portlaw / Kilmacthomas:

  • Cllr. Liam Brazil (Fine Gael)
  • Cllr. John O’Leary (Fianna Fail)
  • Cllr. Seanie Power (Fine Gael)
  • Cllr. Declan Clune (Independent)
  • Ben Duggan (Sinn Fein)
  • Thomas Guiry (Sinn Fein)
  • Catherine Burke (Sinn Fein)
  • Frank Conway (Independent)
  • Ray Murphy (Fianna Fail)


Tramore / Waterford City West:

  • Cllr. Jim Griffin (Sinn Fein)
  • Cllr. Joe Conway (Independent)
  • Cllr. Joe Kelly (Independent)
  • Cllr. Lola O’Sullivan (Fine Gael)
  • Cllr. Cristiona Kiely (Green Party)
  • Cllr. Eamon Quinlan (Fianna Fail)
  • John Hayes (Sinn Fein)
  • Suzie Duffin (Sinn Fein)
  • Alannah Hutchinson-Smith (Sinn Fein)
  • Mairead McKnight (Labour)
  • Richie Hayes (Fine Gael)
  • Blaise Hannigan (Independent)
  • Killian Mangan (Rabharta)
  • Michael Gallwey (Independent Ireland)
  • Ronan Cleary (Aontu)
  • Oliver Dempsey (Independent)


Waterford City South:

  • Cllr. Joeanne Bailey (Sinn Féin)
  • Cllr. Frank Quinlan (Fine Gael)
  • Cllr. Donal Barry (Independent)
  • Cllr. John Hearne (Sinn Féin)
  • Cllr. Jason Murphy (Fianna Fáil)
  • Cllr. Seamus Ryan (Labour)
  • Maolíosa Ní Chléirigh (Green Party)
  • Vivienne Burns (Fianna Fáil)
  • Patrick Curtin (People Before Profit)
  • Breda Brennan (Sinn Féin)
  • Kevin Burke  (Sinn Féin)
  • Sinead Ellen Griffin (Social Democrats)
  • Sean Reinhardt (Independent)
  • John D. Walsh (The Irish People)


Waterford City East:

  • Cllr. Jody Power (Green Party)
  • Cllr. Mary Roche (Social Democrats)
  • Cllr. David Daniels (Independent)
  • Cllr. Pat Fitzgerald (Sinn Fein)
  • Cllr. Adam Wyse (Fianna Fail)
  • Cllr. Stephanie Keating (Fianna Fail)
  • Declan Barry (Independent)
  • Mailo Power (Fine Gael)
  • Jim Darcy (Fine Gael)
  • Caroline Griffin (Sinn Fein)
  • Karl Cretzan (Sinn Fein)
  • Darren Ryan (Independent)

For the latest Waterford News and Sport, tune into WLR News on the hour and download the WLR App for news on demand.