Comeraghs: Huge support for Fine Gael as Sinn Fein gain seat

Comeraghs: Huge support for Fine Gael as Sinn Fein gain seat

Support for Fine Gael was particularly prominent in the Portlaw-Kilmacthomas LEA, as the party saw two councillors elected on the first count.

Cllr. Liam Brazil breezed through with almost 2,000 first preference votes, while his party colleague Seanie Power - who topped the polls in 2019, was also re-elected at the first point of opportunity.

Kilmeaden-based councillor John O'Leary retained the Fianna Fail seat in the locality, while Declan Clune, running as an Independent candidate for the first time having left Sinn Fein - was also re-elected with a degree of comfort.

Sinn Fein did ensure that they held a seat in the local area, as Catherine Burke was elected for the first time, completing the compliment of five councillors.


Cllr. Brazil and Cllr. Power were elected on the first count, while Cllr. O'Leary was elected on the second count - and Cllr. Clune and Cllr. Burke were elected on the eighth count.

Here's the full result from Portlaw-Kilmacthomas:

Electorate: 15,401

Total Valid Poll: 7,788


Spoiled Votes: 73

Turnout: 51.04%

Quota: 1,299

For the latest Waterford News and Sport, tune into WLR News on the hour and download the WLR App for news on demand.