Blues lose ground on Galway after scoreless Longford draw

Blues lose ground on Galway after scoreless Longford draw
Keith Long was forced to make one change with Ronan Coughlan suspended so Thomas Oluwa spearheaded the Waterford attack.
However, there was little to encourage the small crowd with both sides creating little in the way of goalscoring chances in a dull opening 45. Oluwa was well marshalled though he did get on the end of a couple of crosses, but his headers missed the target.
The home side offered little in the way of attack and their best chance came on the stroke of halftime when Ryan Burke conceded a free on the edge of penalty area but Adam Verdon sent the ball high over the bar.
The second half saw some improvement from the visitors with an increase in their intensity and Oluwa found the net on the hour only to be denied by the offside flag.
Minutes later came the Blues' best chance to break the deadlock when Oluwa broke through again but his effort was parried by Jack Brady into the path of Shane Griffin who could only watch his shot come back off the crossbar.
In the end, a resolute Longford defence held firm and the home crowd warmly greeted the final whistle and the precious point.

LONGFORD TOWN: Jack Brady, Shane Elworthy (Emmanuel James ’52), Viktor Serdeniuk, Cian Byrne, Kyle O’Connor, Adam Verdon (Gary Armstrong ’68), Aodh Dervin, Jamal Ibrahim (Evan Farrell ’82), Ross Fay (Darragh Lynch ’82), Beineon O’Brien-Whitmarsh, Joshua Giurgi

WATERFORD FC: Paul Martin, Niall O’Keeffe, Kilian Cantwell, Giles Philips, Ryan Burke, Shane Griffin, Barry Baggley, Dean McMenamy (Tunmise Sobowale ’56), Roland Idowu (Chris Conn-Clarke ’77), Connor Parsons, Thomas Oluwa (Wassim Aouachria ’83). 

Referee: Declan Toland (Roscommon).