Waterford name team for crucial Cork clash

Waterford name team for crucial Cork clash

Davy Fitzgerald has named his team for Waterford’s crucial clash with Cork in the Munster Senior Hurling Championship this Sunday.

It’s a 4pm throw-in at Walsh Park, in a game that will be brought to you live on WLR thanks to George Corbett Skoda.

Shaun O’Brien lines out in goal, while the full-back line consists of Mark Fitzgerald, Conor Prunty and Iarlaith Daly.

The big news comes in the half-back line, where Clashmore Kinsalebeg man Tadhg De Burca makes his return from a year long injury absence to take his place, with Kieran Bennett and Darragh Lyons named alongside.


Jamie Barron will be partnered by Abbeyside’s Neil Montgomery in midfield, while Calum Lyons, Kevin Mahony and Stephen Bennett make up the full-forward line.

Dessie Hutchinson, Michael Kiely and Jack Prendergast complete the Déise compliment.

Meanwhile, Cork have named their side for the meeting of the Munster rivals.

The return of Mark Coleman is the big news emerging from the Rebels camp, while Sean Twomey is selected in the full-forward line along with Alan Connolly and Patrick Horgan as Pat Ryan picks 11 of the 15 that began the final round Division 1A game against Wexford.

  1. Patrick Collins (Ballinhassig)
  2. Ger Mellerick (Fr O’Neills)
  3. Damian Cahalane (St Finbarrs)
  4. Sean O’Donoghue (Inniscarra) Captain
  5. Robert Downey (Glen Rovers)
  6. Ciaran Joyce (Castlemartyr)
  7. Mark Coleman (Blarney)
  8. Tommy O’Connell (Midleton)
  9. Darragh Fitzgibbon (Charleville)
  10. Shane Barrett (Blarney)
  11. Conor Lehane (Midleton)
  12. Seamus Harnedy (St Itas)
  13. Alan Connolly (Blackrock)
  14. Sean Twomey (Courcey Rovers)
  15. Patrick Horgan (Glen Rovers)

For the latest Waterford News and Sport, tune into WLR News on the hour and download the WLR App for news on demand.